

Country Views on Killer Robots

24 October 2016

The Campaign to Stop Killer Robots monitors developments with respect to national policy to address concerns over fully autonomous weapons, including statements made at multilateral meetings.

Who has called for a ban on killer robots?

Countries calling for a ban on lethal autonomous weapons systems

In alphabetical order:

- 1. Algeria
- 2. Bolivia
- 3. Chile
- 4. Costa Rica
- 5. Cuba
- 6. Ecuador
- 7. Egypt
- 8. Ghana
- 9. Holy See
- 10. Mexico
- 11. Nicaragua
- 12. Pakistan
- 13. State of Palestine
- 14. Zimbabwe

In chronological order:

- Pakistan on <u>30 May 2013</u>
- Ecuador on <u>13 May 2014</u>
- Egypt on <u>13 May 2014</u>
- Holy See on <u>13 May 2014</u>
- Cuba on <u>16 May 2014</u>
- Ghana on <u>16 April 2015</u>
- Bolivia on 17 April 2015
- State of Palestine on 13 November 2015
- Zimbabwe on <u>12 November 2015</u>
- Algeria on <u>11 April 2016</u>
- Costa Rica on <u>11 April 2016</u>
- Mexico on <u>13 April 2016</u>

- Chile on <u>14 April 2016</u>
- Nicaragua on 14 April 2016

Who has spoken on the topic of killer robots?

A total of 70 countries have for the first time elaborated their views publicly on lethal autonomous weapons systems in a multilateral forum: 44 states in 2013, seven in 2014, fifteen in 2015, and four in 2016. Most states spoke at the Convention on Conventional Weapons as well as the United Nations General Assembly. Almost two-dozen spoke in the first debate on the matter in May 2013 at the Human Rights Council.

- 1. Algeria on 30 May 2013
- 2. Argentina on 30 May 2013
- 3. Australia on 14 November 2013
- 4. Austria on 30 May 2013
- 5. Bangladesh on 21 October 2016
- 6. Belarus on 14 November 2013
- 7. Belgium on 11 November 2013
- 8. Bolivia on 17 April 2015
- 9. Botswana on 27 October 2015
- 10. Brazil on 30 May 2013
- 11. Bulgaria on 23 October 2014
- 12. Canada on 11 November 2013
- 13. Chile on 13 April 2015
- 14. China on 30 May 2013
- 15. Colombia on 17 April 2015
- 16. Costa Rica on 29 October 2013
- 17. Croatia on 15 November 2013
- 18. Cuba on 30 May 2013
- 19. Czech Republic on 13 May 2014
- 20. Denmark on 13 April 2015
- 21. Ecuador on 29 October 2013
- 22. Egypt on 30 May 2013
- 23. Finland on 22 October 2014
- 24. France on 30 May 2013
- 25. Germany on 30 May 2013
- 26. Ghana on 14 November 2013
- 27. Greece on 29 October 2013
- 28. Guatemala on 16 May 2014
- 29. Holy See on 14 November 2013
- 30. Hungary on 7 October 2016
- 31. India on 30 October 2013
- 32. Indonesia on 30 May 2013
- 33. Iran on 30 May 2013
- 34. Iraq on 13 November 2015
- 35. Ireland on 29 October 2013

36. Israel on 15 November 2013 37. Italy on 14 November 2013 38. Japan on 29 October 2013 39. Kazakhstan on 13 November 2015 40. Kuwait on 26 October 2015 41. Latvia on 21 October 2016 42. Lebanon on 26 October 2015 43. Lithuania on 14 November 2013 44. Madagascar on 14 November 2013 45. Mali on 13 May 2014 46. Mexico on 30 May 2013 47. Morocco on 30 May 2013 48. Netherlands on 29 October 2013 49. New Zealand on 30 October 2013 50. Nicaragua on 13 November 2015 51. Norway on 13 May 2014 52. Pakistan on 30 May 2013 53. Palestine on 13 November 2014 54. Philippines on 14 April 2016 55. Poland on 13 April 2015 56. Romania on 26 October 2015 57. Russia on 30 May 2013 58. Sierra Leone on 30 May 2013 59. South Africa on 30 October 2013 60. South Korea on 14 November 2013 61. Spain on 11 November 2013 62. Sri Lanka on 13 April 2015 63. Sweden on 30 May 2013 64. Switzerland on 30 May 2013 65. Turkey on 14 November 2013 66. Ukraine on 14 November 2013 67. United Kingdom on 30 May 2013 68. United States on 30 May 2013 69. Zambia on 17 April 2015 70. Zimbabwe on 12 November 2015